DWI more info or Driving While Intoxicated is considered as a criminal offense in many states of United States. DWI laws are different from state to state and depending on the jurisdictions, carrying out the sentence can differ as well. If you have been arrested for driving under the influence and want to know the penalties for the crime, then this article will give you all the information that you needed. For those who have been charged with this crime but found no evidences against them, then this article will help you make your case and reduce the charges that you have to face. DWI is punished according to the severity of the offense and the penalties may include hefty fines, community service, probation, license suspension or even jail time.
Most of the states will suspend your license upon arrest for DWI. Your license will be immediately suspended after the arrest and you may lose it for up to 30 days depending on the situation. In cases of serious offenses such as operating a vehicle while intoxicated, the suspended license is for a certain period of time and you might even lose your driver’s license permanently in some cases. You can request for a temporary DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) permit once your driving privileges have been suspended. Temporary permits are usually valid for periods not exceeding 90 days and the fee for such permits is usually very cheap. If you cannot pass the DMV exam, you will still be allowed to drive but you might be restricted from getting a normal driver’s license for sometime until the DMV course is complete.
The penalties and consequences of carrying out a second or subsequent offense dwi differ from the first offense. If you have been convicted for DWI in Louisiana, then you can be arrested and booked in the nearest jail under the category of “aggravated dui”. Being caught for DUI in any state other than Louisiana is a felony that can carry a sentence of one year or more. People convicted for DWI in any state other than Louisiana will most likely be suspended from driving for at least six months. The court proceedings can either be a trial or an arraignment, both of which take place in a local court.
The penalties and consequences of being arrested for DWI in Louisiana also include license suspension and possible jail time. If you are convicted of DWI in Louisiana, then you may be required by law to undergo intensive alcohol or drug rehabilitation. In addition to the mandatory rehabilitation requirements, your driver’s license will be suspended immediately. If you have prior convictions for drunk driving in any state, then the penalties will be increased accordingly. Your insurance rates will certainly go up and you may even be prevented from obtaining employment.
DWI is treated very seriously in the state of Louisiana because it is an offense that often results to impaired driving convictions. With a high incidence rate of repeat DWI offenders, Louisiana has become well known as a state that sees a lot of its citizens arrested for DUI each year. As a result, drunk driving penalties are frequently referred to as “dwis penalties” or “illegally drunk driving charges”.
If you are arrested for drunken driving in Louisiana, don’t hesitate to contact a skilled criminal defense attorney immediately. He can assist you throughout the criminal process, from the initial arrest to the judgment of the court. DWI lawyers in Louisiana can advise you of what options you have if you are arrested for this crime. As they say, knowledge is power.